AND AGAIN!

I know y’all think I’m exaggerating when I say everything, or at least most things, is an ordeal for me, but I’m not, I swear!
Case in point…After the day I had earlier, I was ready & then some to go home, put on comfy clothes, eat & go to bed. No such luck. I sat down at my desk to plug up the mp3 player to charge, and when I looked at the monitor I saw “Prescriptions are ready for pick up at Walgreens”
Dammm, I forgot to pick ’em up. *Sigh* So I put on jeans, kissed the boy & hunny, and said I’d be right back. Hunny says “Why don’t you pick up a pizza while you’re out?” He & Uncle Mike are watching the Prelude To The Dream PPV race. I said sure, and out the door I went.
I called Pizza Hut ‘cuz I had a coupon for a free Medium. After the canned music & commercials did their thing, a young girl picked up the line
Her: “Thank you for calling Pizza Hut, can I help you?”
Me: “Yeah, what are your specials?”
Her: *to co-worker “What are the specials?”
she repeated them, nothing spectacular, so I proceeded to order
Me: “I’d like a large pan pizza -“
Her:”What’s your phone number?”
Me: *giving number
Her: “Ok”
Me: I’d like a large pan pizza, EXTRA, EXTRA, EXTRA light sauce. Put that in capitol letters & highlight it, because I really don’t want to wait around while they remake my pizzas…”
Her:” Ok”
Me: “That needs to be a supreme with extra cheese.”
Her: “Ok.”
Me: “I’d also like – “
Her: Can I get your name please?”
Me: *gave last name
Her “Ok…”
Me: “I’d also like a personal pan, EXTRA, EXTRA, EXTRA light sauce. Put that in capitol letters & highlight it. Also extra cheese.”
Her: “Could you give me your number again?”
Me: *gave number again
Her: “Is that at *address8?”
Me: “Yes, but I don’t want delivery, I’m going to pick them up.”
Her: “I’m sorry, could you repeat your order please..?”
Me: *sigh* I’d like a large pan pizza, supreme, with extra cheese. EXTRA, EXTRA, EXTRA light sauce. Put that in capitol letters & highlight it. I’d also like a personal pan, EXTRA, EXTRA, EXTRA light sauce.with extra cheese. I also need a medium pan, EXTRA, EXTRA, EXTRA light sauce.with just beef & extra cheese.”
Her: *in background to co-worker: “I can’t do this. I don’t know how. “Can you hold for a minit?”
Me: “Sure.”
Recorded commercials
Her: “Ok, sorry bout that. What was your phone number again..?”
Me: *gave number, again,
Her: “And that’s at *address*?
Me: “Yes, but I don’t want delivery, I’m going to pick them up.”
Her: “OK, could you repeat your order again for me” I’m sorry, I’m new, this is my first day…”
Ya think..?
Me: “S’ok, don’t worry about it, I’d like a large pan pizza, supreme, with extra cheese. EXTRA, EXTRA, EXTRA light sauce. Put that in capitol letters & highlight it. I’d also like a personal pan, EXTRA, EXTRA, EXTRA light sauce.with extra cheese. I also need a medium pan, EXTRA, EXTRA, EXTRA light sauce.with just beef & extra cheese. I have a coupon to get the medium one free..”
Silence
Her: “Could you hold for me again for a minit?”
Me: “Sure, why not?”
More recorded ads. Then a guy came on the phone.
Him: “Hi, this is John* Can I help you – oh wait…can I get your number again..?
Me: *gave number AGAIN
Him: “And that’s at *address*?
Me: ” Yes, but I don’t want delivery, I’m going to pick them up. Do I need to give you the whole order again..?
Him: “No, no, I’ve got it, uhhh yeah, maybe you better.
At this point I’m getting a bit exasperated. I was very patient with the little girl I talked to the first time, especially for me, and I had been patient with him so far. My patience was just about gone.
Me: *sigh* I’d like a large pan pizza, supreme, with extra cheese. EXTRA, EXTRA, EXTRA light sauce. Put that in capitol letters & highlight it, because I really don’t want to have to wait around while they remake my pizzas I’d also like a personal pan, EXTRA, EXTRA, EXTRA light sauce.with extra cheese. I also need a medium pan, EXTRA, EXTRA, EXTRA light sauce.with just beef & extra cheese. I have a coupon to get the medium for free.”
Him: “Ok, *repeated order, is that right?”
Me: “Yep”
Him: “Ok, that’ll be $20.18, and they should be ready in about 15-20 min.”
Me: “Ok, see ya then.”

I went and got my prescriptions & picked up a few other things, then headed to Pizza Hut. As I walked up to the counter, a little gal asked me if I was there for pick up. I said yeah and gave her my name. She brought my pizzas and rang them up. After I paid, as she started to walk away, I said “Hang on, I need to check them before I go.”
She came back and I opened the first box – the personal. I wasn’t too bad, had a bit too much sauce – but not so much I couldn’t live with it. Then came the med. So much for light sauce! It actually looked like it had extra.
Me: “Does that look like light sauce to you..?”
Her: “No, not really…”
I opened the supreme and it was actually WORSE.
I told her, “You might as well take these back, they need re-made.”
She took them back to the kitchen and I checked the receipt, Sure enough it said light sauce. Twice on each pizza. About that time an employee walked past me and I asked for the manager. The manager was about 16, although very nice, if a bit scared – no shame to him, I’ve scared much bigger & meaner men than him with less trying. (But I have noticed, if I remain calm, people tend to be more afraid of me than when I go off.) I don’t try to be intimidating (most of the time) It just happens…

So, he told me he was personally remaking the pizzas, and gave us a future credit of $20 linked to our address. All was good, or so it seemed. About the time the young’un walked away, my phone rang. I figgered it was Hunny wondering what was taking so long, and at first glance (listen?) it appeared I was right….
Hunny: “What did you order at Pizza Hut?”
Me: “*repeated order* Why..? I’m here now waiting on them to re-cook them.”
Hunny: “You’re at Pizza Hut?”
Me: “Yeah, I came to pick ’em up. They were loaded with sauce, as usual, so I am having them remade.”
Hunny: “Uh…”
Me: “Why’d you want to know what I ordered? I told you what I was getting before I left.” Then a light bulb popped on in my head.”Do you have pizzas there..?”
Hunny: “Yup”
Me: “They brought you pizzas?”
Hunny: “28 dollars worth – 36 with the tip.”
Me: “You’re shitting me, right?”
Hunny: “Nope.”
Me: “Is the guy still there? Did you pay for them?”
Meanwhile I am calling the manager back out.
Hunny: “Yep all paid for.”
Me: “Well SHIT!”
Manager: *Looking inquisitive
Me: “Your delivery guy just delivered two pizzas to my house! I made it very clear I was picking them up – you did have them waiting, remember? Why would they take pizza to the house..? My husband just paid $28 dollars for pizza, No, scratch that, he paid $36.”
Now the poor little manager guy looked like he was ready to pee himself. Really. He went in back for a minute and came back with a receipt.
Him: “Is that it?”
Me: *looking over receipt “I would say so, it’s $28 and change.”
He pointed at the address “Is that your address?”
Me: “Yep.”
So, to sum up, I got three pizzas at Pizza Hut, with too much sauce, and two more at home. I got the $36 dollars back (less $5 tip for the driver – it wasn’t his fault). My pizzas were remade to my satisfaction, if a bit underdone, and I went on home. The pizzas at home actually did have light sauce – go figger!
There’s my Pizza Hut debacle. I meant to post this last night (Wednesday) when it happened, but I got too tired to finish it, so the days are a bit out of order. Sorry for any confusion *grin*

Now, bed calls again, and I’m a answering.
G’Night.

See ya laterzzzzz!
*John is a made up name. Any resemblance to any actual Pizza Hut employees is purely coincidental.

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    thevinylvillage Says:

    that sounds like a day in my life…

  2. 2
    Dawtch Says:

    Yeah, I’ve noticed the similarity several times while reading your posts 🙂
    bb
    dawtch

  3. 3
    Tom Evans Says:

    This reminds me a very great deal of a call I made to America very recently where it took me 35 minutes to book a hotel… The guy mde me repeat my phone number NINE times before he got it right…

    I was going to add a link to your site, but should I add this one or the other one?


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

