A Kentucky Wedding – and Other Ramblings

As I mentioned in a previous post, we attended a wedding on Friday. In Kentucky. Hunny’s aunt Anti got married to her long-time honey Jigger. Again. I think she’s been married almost as many times as I have…hopefully this one will be as good for her as my last one is for me 🙂

We were a bit flustered when we found out the wedding was at 1:00 on a Friday. I mean we do have jobs and all. But luckily we had (almost) enough notice that it really wasn’t a problem, at least not a big one. Hunny gets 3 weeks vacation, and I get two, none of which either of us had used any of so far this year. We also get personal days – although his are much better, as they really are personal days – he can call in for any reason, on any day, an hour before his start time, and he’s good. I, on the other hand, have to schedule all days off – except sick days of course. You might know that day was “closed” so I had to give up my day off, and work for someone else, so she would work for me on Friday. I got the day off, but it wasn’t easy. Which is probably good, because if it had been easy, I would have spent all the time between approval & the day of wondering what was gonna happen….and of course “it” happened anyways, my boy was/is sick.

Anywho…we figgered about 2 hours for the drive, each way – wedding at one means leave about 10. I was a bit hesitant about taking the boy, for all the regular reasons there are for not wanting to spend two hours trapped in a vehicle with a six-year-old, expect him to then behave in a church, and be again trapped for 2 hours… And once he started having problems, my reservations grew. I considered staying home with him, but he was excited about going, and he seemed basically ok that morning. I dosed him with Motrin & Pepcid, taking both with us, along with his bucket, his big (32 oz) cup of ice water & his Gameboy. Other than my Speedway STILL not having the iced coffee machine fixed (I’m addicted to the French Vanilla) the trip down was pretty uneventful. We did get a phone call about 50 miles into the trip to tell us we had the wrong directions….but in spite of all, we made it with time to spare.

I had asked Hunny the day before what he was planning on wearing. His response..? “Jeans! I ain’t dressing up! This is what her 20th wedding..?” Yep, that’s my Hunny the epitome of tactfulness…he also made the comment that they were getting married on Good Friday, cuz Jigger was getting hung out like Jesus did on the same day…like I said, tactful…(he actually shared that comment with Anti) Back to the subject at hand – when he said jeans I said woohoo! that makes my life much easier. Don’t get me wrong, I have plenty of dress up clothes – scads of them, actually, since I have to wear the “monkey suits” (as I call it) to work most days. Which is why I was thrilled with wearing jeans. Besides, Anti & Jigger are way more redneck than we are, and that’s saying sumptin’. We fully expected casual (we’ll get to that in a few) church not withstanding. Yeah. We were wrong. Mostly…We did wear nice jeans, & dressy shirts, but Hunny had the boy dress himself while I was getting ready, and, well, his outfit wasn’t even close to dressy – as you’ll see here shortly.

Dad had called to tell us about the wrong directions & give us new ones, which included “yellow building” and “antique shops” and the information that Mom’s car would be parked in front of the church sign. In his defense, he did well, we found it no problem. They got married at a pretty little Pentecostal church in the burbs of Louisville. Yes, I entered a church & survived to blog about it 🙂 But everyone we encountered, including Miss Mom (unfeminine sister-in-law) was dressed. Not just wearing clothes, but dressed. In dresses & suits. Except the bride – she was still in jeans (mind you, we arrived about 30 mins before the wedding was due to start).

This is the point where we found out she wanted the boy to be her ring bearer. Huh?!? Are you sure about that..? She was sure. Blue jeans, Batman shirt and all…

ringbearer

Did I mention Hunny also let him spike his hair himself..?

Anyway, other than the Maid of Honor (Anti’s daughter) deciding she needed to go to Walmart 3 min before the wedding was due to start, it went very well. Once the ceremony was over, the cake was cut and the food was eaten (coldcuts, crackers, chips and “chocolate meatballs, as our niece called them). I did start to feel better about our attire once I got a good look at some of the other attendees. I thought I taken more pics than I did of the outfits on display, but I only got this one…

wedding shoes

Yep, that’s shower shoes with socks, along with a button-down shirt & suit pants. We also had plus sized zebra stripes, flowers galore, and an almost-mini skirt (there really wasn’t even enough material to qualify as a mini skirt…). There were two cakes, a regular cake & a redneck cake…


cake11

cake3

cake2

It says “Now all you can do is run to the end of  your chain.’

The ride home was rather bad – the boy fell asleep about 10 minutes into the ride. “That’s good” you’re thinking, I can hear it, but no, not so much. For several reasons, the first of which is that when he falls asleep in the car, unless he stays asleep until we get where we’re going, he usually wakes up whining & crying. Almost every time. Add to that he wasn’t really feeling well to begin with, and had had drunk a can of Sprite before we left. He was also getting grumpy just before we left. So was Hunny. You see, the boy wanted to play. Kid logic says if I don’t feel bad right at this moment, I’m fine until I’m not. Nowhere in kid logic lives the knowledge that a temporary reprieve is not justification for running, yelling, jumping & generally being a kid, because this will cause the misery to return. Which it did. 2/3 of the way home. Not only did we have the “I hate waking up in a moving vehicle” attitude, but we also had “my belly is starting to hurt again” and “my neck hurts” and finally, once we hit Indy’s rush hour traffic (we got back to Indy about 5:30) “I need to pee.” We mixed that up with Hunny’s mounting frustration with the idiots around us, and it was not fun.

We survived, but as you saw from Friday night’s post, we didn’t survive it well. The boy was up & whiny every 30-45 minutes Thurs, Fri & Sat nights, so while I got up with him, Hunny was still woken repeatedly, and he’s not used to not sleeping, like I am, so yesterday wasn’t very pleasant, either 😦 He did go to work today, which is a relief to all involved, and he did sleep last night. I called the doc Saturday and he called in some antibiotics for the boy. Despite Hunny’s assertion that the boy’s “neck” hurt from heartburn, by Sat afternoon, his neck felt like there were two robin’s eggs inside it.

Rest assured, despite a slight fever this morning, he is just about back to his normal self. Lucky me. Well, gotta go. He’s demanding food. If I weren’t so glad to see him eating again (he really didn’t eat Friday, Saturday or Sunday, and ate only some Mac & Cheese Thursday) I’d be getting upset…

he still doesn’t feel good

he still doesn’t feel good

he still doesn’t feel good

As long as I keep telling myself that, I won’t throttle him *grin*

See ya laterzzzzzzzzzzzzzz! ! ! ! !

Leave a Reply

