Crisis Averted

Hunny is home today due to “lack of work.” While I really enjoy spending time with my dear Hunny, I don’t enjoy ANYONE in the AM. I have my routines, and apparently in my old age, and after 10 years with someone who doesn’t take to change well, I am becoming set in my ways, and having an extra person – even Hunny – underfoot in the morning is, shall we say, not good?

I had to sit in a different spot. I had to maneuver around him in the kitchen to get my FIRST CUP OF COFFEE. (Not good). I had to TALK to him…Talking..? 5 minutes after waking up..? Again, can I say NOT GOOD? And he KNOWS better! This is the same man who used to wait to wake me until 2 minutes before he had to leave. He would gently kiss me until I woke, then go in the other room. I would stumble into the bathroom, do my business, then make my way to the computer desk, where I would find a hot cup of coffee (mixed perfectly), my cigarettes & lighter & my computer booted up. He would then gingerly kiss the top of my head, say “I love you” and out the door he went. It’s safer that way.

Been awake 10 minutes and I hear “That bluetooth doesn’t work.” Huh? Bluetooth? What’s a bluetooth..? Oh yeah, ordered one from QVC (‘cuz I won $150 in QVC gift cards at work – whole other story…) and it came yesterday. Why did we order one..? Well, the first one got washed & the second is acting funky – again, another story. So I had to get up, look at the bluetooth, look at the charger, and grab the destructions to try to figure out what was up with it. And of course the destructions are in Spanish. And French. And German. And Japanese. They were NOT however in English – you know, the primary language of the country I live in? Grrrrrrrrrrrr……

After finding the English directions, eventually, (mind – I’ve only been up 13 minutes at this point) I finally determined that the charging port on the bluetooth is bad. So now I get to go through the hassle of returning something bought via mail. Fun Fun.

As if that wasn’t enough, about an hour later I hear “The shelf is wet and the fish thing is empty.”

Huh..?

Apparently, the fish thingy that I emptied a bit the other night, using the built in drain & rubber stopper on THE BOTTOM of it & added fresh water to – ‘cuz that’s what the destructions say to do periodically – the plug in the bottom of it decided that was the time it was going to quit sealing completely. Even though it is as secure as it can get. So it has been slowly leaking – drip, drip, drip, (because a flow of water would have been SEEN and possibly CAUGHT, and it wouldn’t have been able to empty almost COMPLETELY before someone noticed, and the bookshelf wouldn’t be soaked, and the particle board under the pretty oak stick-on stuff wouldn’t swell & bubble up, and have to be replaced…..) which had to be what happened, because there wasn’t a puddle anywhere…

And of course, the water that you put the fish into has to either have chlorine remover added (which I thought I bought, but got home and found to be something to make cloudy water clear. And I didn’t take it back because #1 it was like $1.29, and #2 what was the point? I had him in water by then, he was good) or left to sit out for at least 24 hours to allow the chlorine to dissipate – destructions again – and I happened to have a jug of water for coffee (see? I have lots of stories to post, I just need a few extra hundred hours in each day…) that had been sitting overnight, and I used it.

Now the damm thing was empty & Dabetta the beta fish was flopping on the gravel at the bottom of it & gasping for breath, erm, water…And of course I am THE ONLY PERSON ON THE PLANET capable of fixing it. “Cuz you know, the other adult in the house, the one that wakes up awake & ready to go and has already been up for HOURS, eaten breakfast, and is now sitting in MY MORNING CHAIR is incapable of it.

!

So, I get up to find the only water we have, that has been sitting for 24 hours, is in the refrigerator. I’m thinking dumping fridge temperature water on a gasping-for-breath fish might give him oxygen, but it’ll probably also give him a heart attack and make the need for oxygen kinda pointless. Yanno? So, I mixed it with hasn’t-been-sitting-out-for-24-hours water to try to warm it some. The only water faucet we have that isn’t connected to the water softener is in the garage. It’s 45 degrees. My garage isn’t heated – well, not really so you can imagine the water I added to the cold water didn’t help much. I nuked it. (FYI a large bowl of water nuked for 2 min. is the perfect temperature to dump on a gasping-for-breathe-Beta-fish…).

But the fish thingy was still drip, drip dripping away, so now I had the problem of finding something to put him in. Hunny was a big help…

Me: “Do we have anything I can put him in until I can get  new fish thingy?”
Him: *opens cabinet where rubbermaid type dishes are stored

! ! ! !

So, Debetta the beta fish has a new temporary home in my size 3 lid rubbermaid storage container.

Beta Home

At least he’s alive. For the moment. I hope he survives until I can get to Wally World and get a new fish thingy for him. And maybe some Chlor-out. I wonder…do you think he’s freaking out because everything is “cloudy” looking now when he looks out through the rubbermaid? Cuz the thingy he was in was clear….

Ok, gotta get ready for work, and I still haven’t put up today’s post over at A Witch In Time… so I need to go do that real quick-like, too…

See ya laterzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!!!!!

2 Comments »

  1. 1
    MrsB Says:

    Oh, gosh! I had a similar thing that involved a cat, a knocked over and cracked container and a little blue betta. He ended up going into a dish filled with 7 of those tiny 1/2 pint bottles of water that I happened to have stored in the back of a cabinet (and I have no idea for how long, because we quit bottled water forever ago!).

    The things we do for a fish!

    You know it’s the weirdest thing – our cats don’t even seem to know he exists! But then again, they really aren’t the sharpest tools in the shed either – But Hunny has taught Bel (the black one) to roll over! No really – quit laughing – he really does roll over on command! It’s the damndest thing…
    bb
    dawtch

  2. 2

    I am so totally digging this! I don’t function at all in the morning, either. I am on auto-pilot for the first hour. Do not get in the way or I will just robotically run over you. Do not talk to me; speech is not an option! If the pattern is disrupted by even one step, the rest of the day is totally thrown off kilter and I might as well go back to bed and just stay there. I have literally walked into a wall from disorientation.

    Here’s a cute fish story from my childhood: My mom (divorced) often left we three kids alone and one night my baby sister decided to clean our goldfish’s bowl while my brother and I watched TV. She was about 3 years old, but managed to get a kitchen chair pulled over to the kitchen sink and the bowl of three fish up onto the counter. She poured the water down the sink, along with one of the fish (or so we believe; we like to think at least one survived what happened next). The two remaining fish she washed with Comet.

    One half-bleached fish was found caught on the cross-hairs of the drain, the other was completely bleached (and totally clean) and clutched in her tiny fist when my mother walked in the back door and into the kitchen. She was not very amused. My brother and I started howling and blubbering, but immediately decided the two remaining fish were (of course) ours and set about a rescue.

    The bowl (rinsed of all remaining traces of Comet) was filled with water and the two fish returned to their bowl. It was immediately apparent the spotty one caught in the drain wasn’t going to make it — a broken back was our diagnosis. A quiet toilet burial soon followed. Within the next two hours, the other now pearl-white fish turned belly-up and floated to the surface. It, too, was treated to a solemn watery funeral and flushed into oblivion.

    Whenever I remember this family story, I can smell the sharp odor of Comet and hear my baby sister explaining, “I just givin’ fishies a bath ‘cuz they dirty!”


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

