Books for Prisoners

I was going from place to place online this afternoon – I can do that right now, ‘cuz I’m on VACATION! If you can call a weeks worth of organizing, laundry & garage cleaning (pics coming soon…) “vacation.” Anywhoo, I went to Hey! It’s Free, one of my daily visits – when I remember – and clicked a link for free “Nature’s Source Cleaner.” After filling out the form, I was offered a coupon for $1 off as well. I’m all about dollars off!

You: “ How exactly does this have anything to do with books or prisoners..?”
Me: “I’m getting to that, just don’t get your panties in a wad!”

Now, where was I…oh yeah, it wanted me to download a coupon printer, which I didn’t want to do, so went back and clicked on a link that said “7 ideas for recycling your clutter. One of the suggestions (you’ll hafta go yourself if you want to see the rest of the suggestions) was to donate books – there’s a link for donating to soldiers, and one to donate to prisoners. The one to donate to soldiers wants you to fill out a PAPER form and MAIL it. Now I’m not paranoid, not much anyways, but really? Why do I have to fill out a paper & send it to the government in order to donate books..? I’m just sayin’…

So I went to the other one, where you can donate to prisoners. (No paper form required!) and at the top of the list – ok not THE top, but the top of the Fiction & Others list – I saw a request for Pagan books…in bold even. So I thought I would put it up here so my three readers (yeah YOU) can consider going through your shelves, and maybe donate…just a thought…

bb

men~tag8b~michele~eye4expression2

 

 


Books Needed

Books To Prisoners is a Seattle-based, all-volunteer, non-profit group that sends free books to prisoners in the U.S.

Home
Up

Book donations needed!

Books To Prisoners needs the following paperback books.

Note: Please limit box weight to 15 pounds maximum.

Most needed books

  • Dictionaries (English and Spanish/English)

  • Thesaureses

  • Small business and real estate – Running and starting a business

  • Law dictionaries and legal self help

  • Trades (plumbing, electricity, carpentry, construction, auto mechanics)

Reference and text books

  • Dictionaries (including English, Spanish, French, German, Swahili)

  • Dual language dictionaries (particularly Spanish/English)

  • Almanacs (non-current year still great!)

  • Foreign language textbooks (particularly Spanish)

  • Biology, chemistry, and physics text books

  • American Sign Language manuals

  • Legal self-help and legal dictionaries

  • GED prep and high-school level textbooks in all subject areas

  • Vocational, technical, and "how to" books, such as electrical repair, home repair, etc.

  • Small business guides or handbooks (including management)

African-American and Hispanic studies

  • African-American non-fiction (including Black Panther and related material)

  • ANY Mexican or Latino non-fiction (including  Mexican Revolution and Aztec history)

  • World history, especially ancient Greece, Rome, Egypt, and military history

Fiction and Other

  • Wiccan, pagan, mythology, and occult materials

  • Westerns

  • Mystery, thriller, and horror

  • Fantasy

  • True crime

  • Classic literature

  • Philosophy

  • Blank journals/diaries (some pages ripped out is fine)

Leave a Reply

